top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichael Ritchie

Your Guitar Design

The choice of timbers and various aesthetics used throughout your guitar will be documented here.


Your chosen rosette design is my spinning motif made with Brazilian cedar and black veneer. I love the overall look of this rosette particularly inlayed into a western red cedar soundboard. Good choice!



This will be complimented with the bespoke Rodgers tuners matching the rosette to the headstock


Photo of a Realejo cedar top with the Rodgers tuners.



The strip of quilted cedar in the ebony headstock is a beautiful choice. I often compliment this with a similar stripe down the back as seen in the following photo.


Something to consider?

In this stack is the wood for the next guitars. Once my two recent cedar's are finished and away, probably last week in February, I'll be selecting tops and backs for joining. I'll post some photos as I go.


I just have some final set up to do on these most recent cedar tops and then I can free up a bench to select the next batch of woods. I hope you enjoy the pictures of these two guitars in the meantime, both Realejo.


A French Polished Realejo with embroidered suede micro-fiber cloth.

Timber selection for the next guitars, you will see the various pieces in rough form for now as I set aside backs, sides, tops etc.

Indian Rosewood back and sides, this is a beautiful piece, bought in 2006 but imported years before. I bought this from one of the makers in Granada. Perfectly quarter sawn and good colour.

Very old Western Red Cedar, felled and air dried since the mid 80's!


Ebony fingerboards and head plates and Indian Rosewood bridges.



Brazilian Cedar neck wood, perfectly quarter sawn and straight grain.

46 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Rosettes

bottom of page